fbpx

The house with lions

The imposing building by the sea was built according to the plans of the Romanian architect Ion Berindei, between 1895 and 1898.

The House of Lions and the fame of the aristocrat Loniay, a concubine from Constanta during the First World War, is another unknown story of the city.

The house with lions became, after the First World War, a bank headquarters for a short time (in 1921), and Bebi Emirzian, Dicran's son, lived in the house until 1941, when he moved to Bucharest. The building then had several tenants, and in 1950 it was nationalized. In the 70s, Casa cu lei went through a restoration process, being transformed into a famous restaurant at the time, which operated until the first years after the 1989 Revolution.

The main facade towards Dianai street is represented by the four columns of colossal order, with high stone plinths. At the upper part of each column, by placing a stone lion, a special architectural effect was achieved, giving the construction the originality that we mention almost every time when it comes to this building.

The building impresses with its imposing, well-preserved architecture that turns off the light at various times of the day through fascinating details. Stylistically, the building belongs to eclecticism, specific to the 19th century. The principle of this style is that of choosing elements from the composition of classicism, renaissance and baroque, combining them in a new synthesis, never the same.

Here you can find the address of the House with Lions in Constanța:

Strada Dianai, Constanța

Park Hotel supports the promotion of the city of Constanța and the resort of Mamaia, by providing all the necessary information to tourists and more. 

Scroll to Top